Colleges under ISEET

The successor to the JEE and AIEEE — for long the gateways to India's top engineering colleges including the IITs — will be called ISEET, the Indian Science Engineering Eligibility Test which comes into force in 2013. Find out which colleges accept addmission through ISEET.

15 Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs)

NameShort NameEstablishedCity / TownState
IIT KharagpurIITKGP1951KharagpurWest Bengal
IIT BombayIITB1958MumbaiMaharashtra
IIT MadrasIITM1959ChennaiTamil Nadu
IIT KanpurIITK1959KanpurUttar Pradesh
IIT DelhiIITD1963New DelhiNew Delhi
IIT GuwahatiIITG1994GuwahatiAssam
IIT RoorkeeIITR2001RoorkeeUttrakhand
IIT RoparIITRPR2008Rup NagarPunjab
IIT BhubaneswarIITBBS2008BhubaneswarOrissa
IIT HyderabadIITH2008HyderabadAndhra Pradesh
IIT Gandhi NagarIITGN2008GandhinagarGujarat
IIT PatnaIITP2008PatnaBihar
IIT RajasthanIITJ2008JodhpurRajasthan
IIT MandiIITMandi2009MandiHimachal Pradesh
IIT IndoreIITI2009IndoreMadhya Pradesh
IT (BHU)IT BHU1916VaranasiUttar Pradesh
ISM DhanbadISM2006JharkhandBihar

30 National Institutes of Technology (NITs)

NameEstablishedShort NameUpgraded as NITLocationState / UT
National Institute of Technology, Agartala1965NITA2006AgartalaTripura
Motilal Nehru National Institute of Technology, Allahabad1961MNNIT2002AllahabadUttar Pradesh
Maulana Azad National Institute of Technology, Bhopal1960MANIT2002BhopalMadhya Pradesh
National Institute of Technology, Calicut1961NITC2002CalicutKerala
National Institute of Technology, Durgapur1960NITDGP2003DurgapurWest Bengal
National Institute of Technology, Hamirpur1986NITH2002HamirpurHimachal Pradesh
Malaviya National Institute of Technology, Jaipur1963MNIT2002JaipurRajasthan
Dr. B R Ambedkar National Institute of Technology1987NITJ2002JalandharPunjab
National Institute of Technology, Jamshedpur1960NITJSR2002JamshedpurJharkhand
National Institute of Technology, Kurukshetra1963NITKKR2002KurukshetraHaryana
Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology, Nagpur1960VNIT2002NagpurMaharashtra
National Institute of Technology, Patna1886NITP2004PatnaBihar
National Institute of Technology, Raipur1956NITRR2005RaipurChhattisgarh
National Institute of Technology, Rourkela1961NITRKL2002RourkelaOrissa
National Institute of Technology, Silchar1967NITS2002SilcharAssam
National Institute of Technology, Srinagar1960NITSRI2003SrinagarJammu & Kashmir
S V National Institute of Technology, Surat1961SVNIT2003SuratGujarat
National Institute of Technology Karnataka1958NITK2002SurathkalKarnataka
National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirappalli1964NITT2003TiruchirappalliTamil Nadu
National Institute of Technology, Warangal1958NITW2002WarangalAndhra Pradesh
New NITs
National Institute of Technology Delhi2010NITD2010New DelhiDelhi
National Institute of Technology, Goa2010NITG2010Farmagudi/NITKGoa
Daman & Diu
Dadra & Nagar Haveli
National Institute of Technology Uttarakhand2010NITU2010Pauri/NITKKRUttarakhand
National Institute of Technology Mizoram2010NITMZ2010Aizawl/VNITMizoram
National Institute of Technology Meghalaya2010NITM2010Shillong/SVNITMeghalaya
National Institute of Technology Manipur2010--2010Imphal/NITAManipur
National Institute of Technology Nagaland2010NITN2010Dimapur/NITSNagaland
National Institute of Technology Arunachal Pradesh2010NITAP2010YupiaArunachal Pradesh
National Institute of Technology Sikkim2010--2010Ravangla/NITCSikkim

5 Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs)

  • Indian Institute of Information Technology, Allahabad (IIIT Allahabad) was established in 1999, and was recognized as deemed university in 2000. It is the only government IIIT that is intended to be focused on the areas of informatics and library sciences.
  • Indian Institute of Information Technology and Management, Gwalior (IIITM-G), is the first IIIT of country. An institute which was established by Government of India. The name Atal Bihari Vajpayee was added to IIITM Gwalior in honor of India's former Prime Minister.
  • Indian Institute of Information Technology, Design and Manufacturing, Jabalpur (IIITDM Jabalpur), Madhya Pradesh, was established as an autonomous in the year 2005 following a sequence of meetings held between Manmohan Singh, the honorable Prime Minister of India and Junichiro Koizumi, the honorable Prime Minister of Japan. Focus was laid on the development of an interdisciplinary curriculum such that students become proficient in not one but the four fields of Design, Computer Sciences, Electronics and Communication and Mechanical Engineering. It became a deemed university in June 2009.
  • Indian Institute of Information Technology Design & Manufacturing Kancheepuram (IIITDM Kancheepuram) was established by the Govt. of India in 2007 to pursue design and manufacturing oriented engineering education and research excellence. The Institute is offering novel and first of its kind UG, PG and Ph.D. programs in the broad areas of computer, electronics and mechanical engineering.

5 Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research (IISERs)

  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Kolkata is functioning from the temporary campus at Mohanpur, a temporary arrangement within the campus of Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya. Some labs have already been shifted to its permanent campus, over 250 acres (1.0 km) of land at Haringhata, Kalyani near Kolkata.
  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune has started functioning from the National Chemical Laboratory Pune campus. Its permanent campus is under construction on 100 acres (0.40 km) of land at Pashan, Pune.
  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Mohali has started functioning from the Mahatma Gandhi State Institute of Public Administration complex in Sector 26 Chandigarh. The foundation stone for its permanent campus was laid in September 2006 by the Prime Minister of India, Manmohan Singh. The teaching program has commenced from August 2007.
  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhopal has started functioning from the ITI Gas Rahat Building Govindpura Bhopal.
  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Thiruvananthapuram has started functioning from the College of Engineering, Trivandrum. Land for the permanent campus has been identified at Vithura, within 30 km from the city, near Ponmudi. The Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology will be within few kilometers.
  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research began functioning shortly after the foundation stone was laid down on August 28, 2006 by the Prime Minister. Unlike its sister institutions, the IISERs, NISER is being administered by the Department of Atomic Energy. A somewhat larger campus of 300 acres (1.2 km) is planned.

Number of seats available for admission

  • 15 IITs + IT- BHU + ISMU Dhanbad – 10,000+ seats
  • 30 NITs – 20,000+ seats
  • 5 IIITs – 2,000+ seats
  • 6 IISERs + IISc – 2,500+ seats
  • IIST + ISI – 500+ seats
  • Other Deemed Universities (National Level) – 5,000+ seats
  • State Level Colleges – 5, 00,000+ seats